Pennsylvania DUI Laws

Drunk driving is a serious criminal offense in Pennsylvania. It can result in a person facing harsh penalties and fines. I invite you to contact my law office to discuss the DUI charge asserted against you in more detail. I can provide you with legal advice and guidance on how to proceed. Read on to learn more about Pennsylvania’s DUI laws.

Pennsylvania DUI Penalties

In Pennsylvania, a person will be charged with drunk driving if he/she has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher. Below is a table illustrating the minimum DUI penalties in Pennsylvania. The information below is for educational purposes only. Each DUI case is unique and may not result in any conviction. I am New Hope, Pennsylvania DUI Attorney Martin King and I invite you to call my New Hope criminal defense law office to find out how I can get the charge asserted against you reduced or completely dismissed.

1st Offense

2nd Offense

3rd Offense

Minimum Jail Time Served

No minimum jail time required.

5 day minimum and up to 6 months jail sentence

10 day minimum and up to 2 years jail sentence

Fines & Penalties

$300

$300 – $2500

$500 – $5,000

Driver’s License Suspension

No

12 Months

12 Months

Ignition Interlock Device Required

Yes if the accused refused to take the chemical test

Yes for up to 12 months, or the duration of the restricted license

Yes for up to 12 months, or the duration of the restricted license.

The accused level of intoxication will affect how he/she will be punished. For example,  if a first time DUI offender’s BAC is .10% to .159%, he/she will have to serve a mandatory 2 day jail sentence and potentially remain in jail for up to 6 months. In addition, the accused may have to pay a $500 to $5,000 fine. If a first time DUI offender’s BAC is above .16%, he/she will have to serve a mandatory 3 day jail sentence and potentially remain in jail for up to 6 months. Fines will range from $1,000 to $5,000.

Additional DUI Consequences

In addition to the penalties mentioned above, a person can lose their driver’s license for a specified period of time as a result of being charged and/or convicted of drunk driving.  There is no mandatory minimum license suspension requirements for a first time DUI offense with a BAC of .08%. A BAC range of .10% to .16% carries a 1 year license suspension. If a driver refused to submit to a roadside breathalyzer test, his/her driver’s license will be automatically suspended for 1 year.

Treatment Based DUI Penalties

If you are suffering from alcohol abuse/dependency, you may want to consider entering into a treatment program. Several individuals who are arrested for drunk driving in Pennsylvania suffer from alcohol dependency. There are several programs, such as Alcoholic Anonymous that may be able to help you. Do not let your untreated alcohol dependency condition result in subsequent drunk driving arrests. Contact me to find out what programs you can enter into to get the treatment you need.

Contact A Doylestown Pennsylvania DUI Attorney

I am New Hope DUI Attorney Martin King and I invite you to contact my Bucks County DUI law office to discuss your DUI case in confidence. I will provide you with legal advice and guidance on how to proceed. Do not delay in obtaining legal representation. Doing so may harm your case.

I proudly represent those facing DUI charges in Bucks County, Lehigh County and Northampton County, Pennsylvania.